Queer eye for the query letter

banner Shakespeare

Image via Wikipedia

“Estimated time to write a query letter can take one month to one year,” says Ginny Wiehardt, the fiction writing expert at About.com.

To an unpublished writer a literary agent is like a bridge. A connection to oh the possibilities. Oh the advances.

To get a literary agent a writer has to write a query letter that will make the sky open up and celestial angels will sing and pick you out from the hundreds of other humans trying to reach Olympus and get published by God.

As a gay writer who writes lgbt themed material I shorten the number of spiritualized agents I can query by more than a half. I have received a number of rejection emails from literary agents. Maybe it’s my query letter, I thought yesterday, after a very queer agent rejected my query. I am rewriting my query letter. Query letters are not easy to write. Agents want query letters to mirror your work and be like a Target commercial but in words and follow specific guidelines. A frustrating process.

I stare at the blank page. Blue ink is scribbled in the margins. I am trying to inspire myself. Words are difficult to find. A sentence. A need a first sentence. Ever since watching The Hours I start a new work by saying I need a first sentence. Ten minutes later I do not have a first sentence. I am hoping to hear from the other literary agents I queried to not have to write another query letter. My current query letter is my sixth draft. I refresh my my gmail account. Nothing.

I need to channel my inner Shakespeare. Maybe if I think positively about it I can ask the law of attraction to make me write more like Shakespeare. I wonder what inspired Shakespeare or the great romantic writers. Were there any great writers during the beat period who were left unnoticed becuase they could not get published. Self publishing becomes more and more attractive per rejection email.

Leave a comment

Filed under The Written Word

Leave a Reply

