foreign films and friends

Prostitute waiting for customers.

Image via Wikipedia

Plot driven foreign films are like my respirator. They give me life. Ask any of my friends. I make them watch foreign films with me. I have even opted not to tell friends, when they let me pick movies to see, we’re about to watch a foreign film until taking our seats in the theater.

You know this is subtitled pass the popcorn, I say quickly to a hiss of something nasty whispered beside me.

I prefer well-thought out dialogue and direction over CGI and pretty boring actresses. Madam Sata, Brazilian, is one of my favorite foreign films. The movie is about a black Brazilian cross dressing pimp who creates a pseudo family with a prostitute (he dubs as his wife), the prostitutes daughter (he dubs as his daughter), and a black gay male prostitute (he dubs as their maid) he pimps out. My closest friends and I are like a pseudo family. My best friend, Shuan is like my brother. My close friends, Mike and Shaymus are like my wise, older uncles. They give the best advice.

Friendship is unnecessary, like philosophy, like art, like love. It has no survival value; rather it is one of those things that give value to survival — C.S. Lewis.

 

1 Comment

Filed under The Written Word

One response to “foreign films and friends

  1. Pingback: The Other Brazil: DVD REVIEW: Madam Sata | victor yates

Leave a Reply

