Signing My First Autograph

At the West Hollywood Book Fair

What I wasn’t expecting walking into the Green Room, was to have a writing gig handed to me (an unusual one at that. that story will be told later). The West Hollywood Book Fair, on September 30, turned out to be what I imagined it would be, brain-candy for my literary sweet tooth.

I was reading my work at the same event with Deepak Chopra (Ageless Body, Timeless Mind), Heidi Durrow (The Girl Who Fell From the Sky), Douglas Kearney (Black Automaton), Gigi Levangie Grazer (The Starter Wife), and other respected authors.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The reading for, For Colored Boys, turned out better than expected too. Each L.A. contributor to the book showed as well as the actors.

When the microphone was handed to me, I froze. My speech, scribbled on notebook paper looked like German, werden, müssen, eigentlich, and the words I rehearsed came to me in spurts, Magnus Books, Keith, thank you, Skylight Bookstore. That wasn’t an intelligible sentence.

After I read my two poems published in the anthology, I searched the audience for signs or signals. Then I looked down the panel at these brilliant writers and actors, Jonathan Kidd, Antonio Brown, Doug Spearman, Stephen Anthony Williams III, Nic Few, and my fears of not being seen as a serious writer, floated up out of me and blew away like a soap-bubble.

 

It wasn’t until I got home and showered that I realized I signed my first autograph.

I can’t wait to read at the West Hollywood Library in December.

 

1 Comment

Filed under News, The Written Word

One response to “Signing My First Autograph

  1. Pingback: Poetry Review: Douglas Kearney’s Black Automaton | victor yates

Leave a Reply

