Why I Teach Young People

Student drawing

Two couches, two oversize chairs, and two folding chairs are moved into a circle. They come in from two different entrances. All execpt one has the notebooks that I gave to them yesterday. We sit in the same seats from yesterday. With me at the head of the circle, I ask for the class to go over ground rules to ensure everyone is comfortable with the space we are creating. Afterwards, I tape the list to the door and start the class with a writing prompt.

“I’ve had this dream,” one of the girls says.

I jot down notes on her piece and realize why I teach young people – to build community. Older writers are purposed to excite the minds of young writers with the fantastic and the impossible to expand the community.

Leave a comment

Filed under The Written Word

Leave a Reply

